Are there African Bishounen?

This is a question that my significant other, Y, and I have pondered awhile.

We’ve tried many time to come up with examples (Maxwell? Tyson Beckford? Prince???) but none seemed to satisfy that unique criteria that made up that category the japanese so aptly named bishounen. Despite the fact that willowy male physiques are not foreign to Africa we could not place one single public figure that looked like he could have stepped out of the pages of a shoujo manga.

That is, we couldn’t until now.

I have to thank Gamine for this because it was a post she made on FB that led me to this amazing discovery.

People, the answer to the question is YES. Not only are there African bishounen, apparently there is a NIGERIAN bishounen.

Behold:

From Fashion Spot thread.

From Black Super Models Chronicles.

From Black Super Models Chronicles.

From Black Super Models Chronicles.  From Fashion Spot thread.

From Fashion Spot thread.

This is is Ty Ogunkoya.

He’s Nigerian and he’s very much a Bishounen.

10 responses to “Are there African Bishounen?

  1. The hilarity of this whole thing is: This is my friend’s brother.

    We’ve been giving him the side eye for years

    • The side eye???
      Sugabelly, what were you thinking????
      You should have had him front and center and regulated that! Lord!
      Hope you’re still in touch with your friend – we can still salvage this! Lol!!!

  2. Lol. This is awesome. Now that one has emerged into the spotlight, I am pretty sure the floodgates will be opened soon and we’ll start seeing African bishounens all over the place.

    Their time has come!

    • Open ye floodgates!!!
      I believe the women folk are ready!
      But seriously, I felt like true triumph on finding this because now I have a subject to base my future shoujos on in my brilliant future as a nigerian mangaka.

      Muahahahahahahaha!!!!!!

      quite.

  3. stellena10102

    *_____*

    wow…when I first read the title I thought of Tyson Beckford instantly haha…but this guy takes the cake! He is so pretty~! I can’t stop staring at the last picture!!

    :Q____________________

    • Hehe!!!! I know that last picture is the clincher!
      It’s like “Ouch!”
      Oh, and it gives me so much happiness to spread this kind of sugar around!!!!!
      Enjoy!!!

  4. We’re still friends but we haven’t spoken in a while since we go to school in different countries. Unfortunately, last time I checked, the brothers of friends are generally off-limits.

    Don’t worry, there are LOADS of Nigerian bishounen. I actually know at least 5. And I don’t mean just good looking guys I mean Nigerian guys that are more beautiful than handsome… almost pretty like girls.

    • True. True. Damn that chick code.
      Well, as for those bishounen you have encountered, I can only say you are one lucky, lucky lady! No wonder you draw so beautifully with all that inspiration!! 🙂

  5. Wow, these are some pretty nice pictures, especially the last one. ^//////^

    Thanks so much for sharing these!

Leave a Reply

