I don’t get it.

Is it really that weird???

That I’m a Nigerian woman that loves Korean Pop Music???

Or K and J Doramas and the entire culture that comes with it?

I ask because of the reaction I keep getting when people see me watching my music vids or my shows. I actually never really think of it as strange till I see their expressions when I try to explain to them what I’m doing. It’s like this careful blank look you give someone when you are surprised by the realization that they might be mildly disturbed (see weird, obsessed fanatic).

I mean sure, I am passionately involved with the genre now; as in just about every vid on my ipod is korean and my screensaver is a vast slideshow exhibition of Jang Keun Suk (with the occasional BB, 2ne1, CNBlue and DBSK members). But I’m a passionate follower type and that’s how I show my colors! No one looks at Manchester United fans like their crazy when they do the exact same thing!!!

credit: http://www.theotaku.com/wallpapers/view/169742/jang_keun_suk

My Sukkie!!!: The second most beautiful man in the world (after my fiance^^)

Is it because I’m Nigerian? From West Africa? Should people from Nigeria or Africa only watch and listen too a prescribed set of things? Am I outside of our safe stuff to be into zone?

Would it help if I said that just as I’ve been taking in Western media content my whole life I’ve also been consuming eastern media content in one form or another for most of my life? That before I let myself get into Kpop, one of my favourite genres of music was anime soundtracks?

Is it because they’re talking and singing in a different language? Don’t we do the same thing here? Is non-english pop or hiphop only real or okay or acknowledgeable if it’s in our own languages? Does that even make sense???

If I can recognize hotness in people who are black, does it mean I may not recognize it in others who aren’t? And if I do, is that a cause for concern? If my admiration rests on artists who also share the condition of not being black and part of my appreciation is physical is this, because I’m black and West African and Nigerian, a sign of oncoming dementia? A symptom of an ignorant or badly brought up girl?

Is one really not supposed to like an artist even if they’re really good because they use a different word to say “hello,” or because they just don’t look enough like you?

If I think he’s hot…

…does it mean I can’t think he’s hot???

I actually, seriously don’t get this!

Sorry to rant but it really dampens my enjoyment of these things a little bit when people act like it’s soooooo odd and weird. Why do they jump to the conclusion that I’m weird for liking something that they have no idea about? Shouldn’t they be the weird ones? Why is it that on encountering something they don’t understand, rather than curiousity, their reaction is judgement?

This year I discovered K-Pop and it’s all I listen to because it de-stresses me, gives me great joy and is better than my former habit of junk food in bed. Last year I was listening solely to alt. rock. At one point I was only listening to anime and gaming music. I have no idea what I will be listening to next year but I do know that I will probably listen to it passionately and almost exclusively because that is how I deal with the things I love.

Thank god for the internet and being able to reach across the globe if that’s what it takes to find like minded people.

But I have to say, it would be really nice to find one person in Nigeria who doesn’t think it’s weird to love KPop cos  they love it too.

ps. I’m only half as pissed as I sound. I’m telling myself it’s like the anime/manga scene around here. Less and less people these days look at you like you’re crazy when they see you watching cartoons with people speaking japanese and there is actually quite a big community to indulge one’s enthusiasm in the genre with thanks to the overwhelming popularity of franchises like Naruto and Bleach.
So, there’s nothing like that for Asian Pop or Doramas. Maybe I’m just early to the party is all.

10 responses to “I don’t get it.

  1. Hey! I don’t think you’re weird for listening to K-Pop and sweating asian heart throbs. I do think that people only think it is odd and weird because, well, not a lot of people do it you know?

    As for finding Asian guys hot, well again it comes down to one of exposure to these things. How many people do we know have actually even met anybody from the east? Very few I can assure you. And in the way one’s brain has to adjust to the differences in facial structure of races of people you are not used to seeing, they just cannot see what you see in them (heck! to them all Asians look the same right?).

    It will get better. It is just a matter of approach and just carrying on with your own thing. Just today I introduced someone to 9mm Parabellum Bullet and they could dig it, actually bobbing their heads and humming along and everything. The fact they were Japanese and singing in Japanese as well did not cause them to wonder how weird it was that I was listening to the music. It gets easier. People like you with blogs like this will help provide the much needed exposure for Nigerians to see other sides of the world and be able to at least unerstand why someone would get into foreign (non-Western) media heavily even if they are not into it.

    Also, let’s face it, what really makes them look at you funny is that maniacal glint in your eye you get when the name of the almighty Sukkie is mentioned. They definitely don’t know what to do with that look. ;-P

    P.S I don’t think your fiance believes you. After all, it’s not like you got pictures of him all over this blog now do you? Sure he’ll manage though. At least he’s in the top five…top ten? 😉

    • Yup, yup. I know you’re right. Really just venting my frustration @ being mostly alone in this locally. I will try to give people a break on it (but not too much because it isn’t much of an excuse. We’ve all seen asian films and there have always been asians in Nigeria. More, recently even.)

      Maniacal glint you say? something similar to the one I saw in your eye when you found out that game with the hero in booties was finally out (Sin and Punishment?)??? That sort of glint???

      Anyways, FYI, I don’t keep my fiance’s pics at this location. I can take other women sweating Sukkie but any heifer looking @ my fiance gets cut! >.<

      • The glint may be slightly similar. I do admit that people have backed up a bit when I get mine (I know when I get it cos I see a bright light show up in that corner of my vision) so it is possible!

        Also, “heifers” being “cut”? Hmmm…

  2. stellena10102

    I know exactly how you feel. I really do. Every where in the world, Western (i.e. American) music is accepted, right? it really is one of the only types of music where no one will look at you oddly if you listen to it no matter what country your from.

    here in the U.S black people are supposed to like “black music”, Hip-hop, r&b, things like that. If you don’t, people will look at you like something’s wrong with you because obviously ALL Black people listen to Rap (no they don’t) I actually remember when Drake (I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of him…but he’s a pretty popular rapper here) was getting popular and some of my friends would ask me if I liked him and I would just say I never heard of him (because I hadn’t) and they would look at me like I was crazy! So imagine how they look at me when I say I love Asian culture or Asian music or that I find Asian men attractive (another big no no here…asian guys are not attractive *so they say…they don’t know what their missing out on XD* And people always look at me weird when I have a shirt that says my favorite groups name in Korean or when I’m blasting some Rain from my speakers in my car or while waiting for class to start I’m watching YAB on my laptop (which I finally finished btw..it was so good! i loved it! Thanks for recommending it to me!)

    To be honest it used to hurt me a lot when they would give me that polite but disgusted face when I would talk about my love for it….because Asian music is really something that means a lot to me, as weird as it sounds…But now I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t make those people happy and I’m not about to stop liking something because people don’t understand it, and honestly don’t care to. This is what I like and who I am, take it or leave it! (I mean my boyfriend is Asian (Vietnamese) and when people see us together we get really odd looks and sometimes people say really mean and unnecessary things…and like the Asian music we get those polite but disgusted looks (I am so off topic!) ) And like you said, thank God for the internet! At least here we can get together with people who understand our love for these things and not be judged…

    I’m sure you can find someone there where you live that likes Kpop. Sometimes it’s the ones you would least expect 😉 Trust me.

    • Thanks for your truths girl. Makes me feel better to hear about similar experiences.
      I lived in the states for a while so I know what you mean, Lol!!!
      In college I went through a new wave 80s music phase that confused the hell out of my friends. Neither my American friends nor my Nigerian friends got it so i would go to the clubs that played my music by myself and just dance myself stupid. I wouldn’t leave till the DJs gave me my props and my sister still talks about it till today!! Lol!! So I should be used to it by now but sadly, I’m not. I hate that stupid look.
      But fellow netizen enthusiasts like you give me strength and my fiance is one of the few open minded Nigerian guys out there so I’m pretty lucky there!
      I bet you and your guy look wonderful together. I gotta get on your blog and find out what’s up with you! Hope all is well!

  3. don’t worry about it Neo, you’re not the only one. i’ve actually harsh comments as well as strange looks for my fasicination with asian media, and this was from when i first started getting into it. can you imagine how bad it is now 4 years later? I suddenly develop an interest in asian culture and music and suddenly i’m “trying to be asian” and i’m “doing it so my bf will come back to me” it was merely a coincidence i started listening to japanese music and took a japanese class after my japanese bf left me. and god, if that wasn’t bad enough when i started listening to korean music too everyone i worked with, especially my ex, kept telling me how bad they were **this coming from mostly phillipino people lol** so i guess you’ll eventually get used to it. people are too close-minded, just ignore the ones who aren’t curious but encourage and help the ones that are. and you always have us overseas people to cheer you up 😉 **and plenty of sukkie pics and videos, and even naughty fanfics** lol

    • hehe! When ur right, ur right! There are sukkie pics and vids and sundry other goodies which never fail to cheer me up!
      Thanks for getting it though. I honestly still think it’s backwards and they’re the weird ones^^! How could they not be fascinated with japanese culture?
      And ur exxie seriously needs to calm down, what is he, the ambassador of what’s hot and what’s not? Please!
      Well, let’s fight the good fight. Who knows, one day asia pop may cross over and then we’ll be the Unnies of the movement who get to say, told you so! Lol!!!

  4. The day that we’ll be looking on this and laughing is coming soon I bet. After all, even in Nigeria, anime now has a proper following. Now you can be discussing Naruto or whatever and a random person sitting next to you in a bar goes “Wait. Are you guys discussing Naruto??”. The more people get into things like anime, the more of them will start exploring more of the culture that produces it, leading into the other types of media and possibly other Asian cultures.

    If Bollywood can be accepted here, I am pretty sure that it won’t be much longer before J/K pop is as well.

    Also, group hug?

    Hwaiting!

Leave a Reply

