Neogogo’s Eye Candy: Girls’ Generation (SNSD) – Gee

This vid is of the ultra cute, SM Entertainment, 9 member girl group Girls’ Generation (also known as SNSD, an acronym for their Korean name So Nyeo Shi Dae). Member are: Yoona,Tiffany,Yuri, Hyoyeon, Sooyoung, Seohyun, Taeyeon, Jessica, and Sunny.

The name of the song is “Gee” and it had quite an impact when it was released early in 2009 as in other groups are constantly doing references to this song and some, I think, have covered it.

Watching it I can totally understand why because for me it contains everything that is addictive about kpop; off the chart cuteness, hypnotizingly bright colors and sets, yummy choreography and a more than catchy tune. Did I mention cute? In fact I really should put a warning on this: If you aren’t into cute/kawaii/aego then this will probably be too much for you!!!!

Many people that see this vid for the first time ask me why jpop and kpop groups sometimes have so many members. I’ve never gotten an official answer to that question but my theory is: first of all it gives fans more variety in terms of favouriting and second of all it’s a good way for agencies to introduce their talent before giving them solo careers.

That’s just my guess. If anyone knows better, I’m all ears.

Anyway, expect to see Girls’ Generation again in this series!

credit: maly_4life

Leave a Reply

